Menu

Advocacy & Policy

Reconciliation

Support the movement for Reconciliation to create respectful, positive relationships with First Nations, Métis and Inuit peoples and communities including gendered reconciliation work.

The Legacy of Canada’s Residential Schools — Odds of dying for children in Indian residential schools: 1 in 25. Odds of dying for Canadians serving in WWII: 1 in 26. CBC News. Image courtesy: Library and Archives Canada

Collective efforts from all peoples are necessary to revitalize the relationship between Aboriginal peoples and Canadian society — reconciliation is the goal. It is a goal that will take the commitment of multiple generations but when it is achieved, when we have reconciliation — it will make for a better, stronger Canada.

— Truth and Reconciliation Commission

Reconciliation is about reconstructing the historical colonial relationship between non-Indigenous Canadians and First Nation, Métis and Inuit peoples, and building respectful, positive, balanced relationships. For YWCA Canada, our reconciliation has a gender focus on First Nation, Métis and Inuit women and girls.

YWCA Canada’s commitment to reconciliation, expressed at the Truth and Reconciliation Commission national event in Vancouver includes:

  • Stronger partnerships with First Nation, Métis and Inuit communities and organizations
  • Succession plans to ensure First Nation, Métis and Inuit women move into leadership positions within our organization
  • Programs, research and advocacy to prevent and end violence against First Nation, Métis and Inuit women
  • Building leadership skills of First Nation, Métis and Inuit girls and young women
  • Housing, services and advocacy to reduce and end homelessness for First Nation, Métis and Inuit girls and women

The 4Rs Youth Movement

The 4Rs Youth Movement

The 4Rs Youth Movement is a youth-led coalition working to change the country by changing the relationship between Indigenous and non-Indigenous young people through Reconciliation, Respect, Reciprocity, and Relevance.

VAW Legal Information Resource

VAW Legal Information Resource

VAW Legal Information Resource is an online tool to support Aboriginal women facing violence.

Native-Land.ca

Native-Land.ca

Native-Land.ca is a community-developed resource to help North Americans learn more about their local history. Insert an address and the map function will identify the traditional Indigenous people(s) of the land and the treaties Canada signed to access and use it.

Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC)

Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC)

Native Women’s Association of Canada (NWAC), the national organization of Aboriginal women in Canada, is an aggregate of 13 Aboriginal women's organizations across Canada founded in 1974 on the collective goal to enhance, promote, and foster the social, economic, cultural and political well-being of First Nations and Métis women.

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP)

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples (UNDRIP) establishes a universal framework for the survival, dignity, well-being and rights of Indigenous peoples globally and establishes the principle of fair, prior and informed consent. Canada voted against UNDRIP in 2007, endorsed it in 2010 and announced it will officially adopt it in May, 2016.

First Nations Child & Family Caring Society

First Nations Child & Family Caring Society

First Nations Child & Family Caring Society is a national non-profit providing research, policy, professional development and networking to support First Nation child and family service agencies in caring for First Nations children, youth and families. In response to a complaint filed in 2007 by the Caring Society, on January 26, 2016 the Canadian Human Rights Tribunal ruled that the Canadian government racially discriminates against First Nations children by providing flawed and inequitable child welfare services. Follow the issue by signing on as a witness with First Nations Child & Family Caring Society.

Menu

Défense des intérêts

Réconciliation

Soutenir le mouvement pour la Réconciliation afin de créer des relations positives et respectueuses avec les communautés et les peuples des Premières Nations, métis et inuits, y compris un travail pour la réconciliation basé sur le genre.

The Legacy of Canada’s Residential Schools — Odds of dying for children in Indian residential schools: 1 in 25. Odds of dying for Canadians serving in WWII: 1 in 26. CBC News. Image courtesy: Library and Archives Canada

Nous aurons besoin de conjuguer les efforts de tous pour revitaliser la relation entre les peuples autochtones et la société canadienne. Le but est la réconciliation.Ce but nécessitera l’implication de multiples générations, mais lorsqu’il sera atteint, lorsque nous parviendrons à la réconciliation, le Canada en sortira meilleur et solidifié.

— Commission de la vérité et réconciliation

La réconciliation consiste au remodelage de la relation coloniale et historique entre les Canadien.ne.s non autochtones et les peuples des Premières Nations, métis et inuits en une relation positive fondée sur le respect et l’égalité. Le travail de réconciliation de YWCA Canada se concentre sur les femmes et les filles des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites.

L’engagement de YWCA Canada à la réconciliation, exprimé lors de l’événement national tenu par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation à Vancouver se traduit par :

  • des partenariats renforcés avec les communautés et les organisations des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites;
  • des plans de relève s’assurant que les femmes des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites occupent des postes de direction au sein de notre organisation;
  • des programmes, de la recherche ainsi que la défense des intérêts pour prévenir et éliminer la violence envers les femmes des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites;
  • le développement du leadership chez les filles et les jeunes femmes des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites;
  • de l’hébergement, des services ainsi que la défense des intérêts afin decontrer et de stopper l’itinérance des filles et des femmes des Premières Nations, métisses et inuites.

Le Mouvement jeunesse 4R

Le Mouvement jeunesse 4R

Le Mouvement jeunesse 4R est une coalition de jeunes qui s’affairent à opérer le changement au pays en remodelant les relations entre les jeunes autochtones et non autochtones et qui se fondent sur ces quatre valeurs : réconciliation, respect, réciprocité et pertinence.

VAW Legal Information Resource

VAW Legal Information Resource

VAW Legal Information Resource est un service d’information juridique en ligne destiné aux femmes autochtones victimes de violence.

Native-Land.ca

Native-Land.ca

Native-Land.ca est une source élaborée par la collectivité permettant aux Nord-Américains d’en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire de leur région. Tapez une adresse, et la carte géographique vous indiquera le nom du ou des peuples autochtones qui occupaient le territoire et les traités que le Canada a signés pour s’y introduireet exploiter celui-ci.

L’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC)

L’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC)

L’Association des femmes autochtones du Canada (AFAC) est le regroupement national des femmes autochtones au Canada etréunit 13 organismes de femmes autochtones de partout au pays. Il a été fondé en 1974 dans le but d’améliorer, de promouvoir et de favoriser le bien-être social, économique, culturel et politique des femmes des Premières Nations et métisses.

La Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones (DNUDPA)

La Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones (DNUDPA)

La Déclaration des Nations Unies sur les droits des peuples autochtones (DNUDPA) propose un cadre universelvisant à assurer la survie, la dignité, le bien-être et les droits des peuples autochtones du monde entier et énonce le principede consentement juste, préalable et informé. Le Canada a voté contre la DNUDPA en 2007, l’a approuvée en 2010 et a annoncé que son adoption officielle se fera en mai 2016.

La Société de soutien à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations du Canada

La Société de soutien à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations du Canada

La Société de soutien à l’enfance et à la famille des Premières Nations du Canada est un organisme national sans but lucratifqui aide à la recherche et à l’élaboration de politiques, offre du perfectionnement professionnel et favorise le réseautage afin de soutenir les organismes de services à l’enfance et à la famille dans leur mission de venir en aide aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux familles des Premières Nations. En réponse à une plainte émise en 2007 par la Société, le 26 janvier 2016, le Tribunal canadien des droits de la personne a conclu que le gouvernement canadien faisait preuve de discrimination raciale envers les enfants des Premières Nations en leur fournissant des services de protection à l’enfance déficients et inéquitables. Suivez les derniers développements en vous inscrivant comme témoin sur la page de la Société.