Menu

Advocacy & Policy

Women’s Economic Security

Achieve economic equality through a focus on social conditions, colonial legacies, systemic barriers and exclusions, gender income gaps and women’s poverty.

Women account for two-thirds of part-time employees in Canada, and 59% of those working for minimum wage. As a result, women are disproportionately low-income, concentrated in precarious employment, and experience poverty more than men.

Increasing income inequality is a long-term trend, and is magnified for women. The top 20% of earners in Canada – who now earn 40% of income in the country – are the only group to have seen their share of the national income grow since 1990.
 

MIND THE GAP – YES, WE DO

Women in Canada have yet to achieve equal pay for work of equal value. On average, Canadian women working full-time, year-round earn 72% of what men earn working the same pattern. Systemic barriers and legacies of colonization also impact income. The incomes of Indigenous women working full-time are 26% below those of non-Indigenous men, racialized women earn almost a third less than non-racialized men, and immigrant women 28% less than non-immigrant men. Addressing systemic discrimination is crucial to achieving economic equality for women.

Proactive pay equity laws, unionization and regulation make a difference. In 2010, 55% of employees in the highly unionized and regulated federal public service were women, and women earned 90% of men’s salaries. For public servants under the age of 35, the gender wage gap was only 3.5%. The hourly wage for women working in unionized workplaces is $6.65 higher than for women in non-union employment.

 

POVERTY FOR WOMEN – PRECARIOUS WORK, LOW WAGES AND CHILDREN

With the highest levels of working mothers in our history, 37% of single mothers have incomes below the poverty line. The progressive Canada Child Benefit, championed by Campaign 2000, is a key opportunity to increase the incomes of women with children, particularly women raising children on social assistance, as long as the provincial and territorial governments do not deduct it from social assistance payments or reduce other means-tested benefits. Low-cost child care is also an effective anti-poverty tool for women raising children.

ECONOMIC EQUALITY & TAX FAIRNESS

Tax policy is an effective tool for addressing income inequality. YWCA Canada supports the work of Canadians for Tax Fairness on tax justice and ending tax avoidance. Given women’s income levels broadly, and how much women benefit from social programs, tax cuts are not gender neutral, but benefit men disproportionately. Maintaining a substantial federal tax base is essential to maintaining program supports and income transfers that close the inequality gap.

Making Women Count, a 2016 report from the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives and Oxfam Canada, looks at the impact of rising income inequality on women in Canada and globally. Women do not receive equal benefits from the economic growth spurred by their increasing work.

Menu

Défense des intérêts

Sécurité économique des femmes

Assurer l’égalité économique en mettant l’accent sur les conditions sociales, l’héritage colonial, les obstacles et les exclusions systémiques, ainsi que les écarts de revenus entre les genres et la pauvreté.

Les femmes comptent pour deux tiers des employés à temps partiel au Canada et pour 59 % des travailleurs au salaire minimum. Corollairement, comparées aux hommes, un nombre disproportionné de femmes ont un revenu très faible, sont en situation d’emploi précaire et connaissent la pauvreté.

L’inégalité croissante des revenus est une tendance à long terme qui atteint plus gravement les femmes. Les 20 % les plus riches au Canada – qui reçoivent maintenant 40 % des revenus au pays – sont les seuls à avoir vu leur part du revenu national s’accroître depuis 1990.
 

UN FOSSÉ BÉANT

Les femmes au Canada n’ont toujours pas atteint l’égalité salariale pour un travail de même valeur. En moyenne, le salaire annuel des travailleuses à temps plein équivaut à 72 % de celui des hommes dans la même situation. Des obstacles systémiques et les séquelles de la colonisation influencent aussi le revenu. Celui des femmes autochtones qui travaillent à temps plein est 26 % moins élevé que celui des hommes non autochtones, les femmes racialisées reçoivent près d’un tiers moins que les hommes non racialisés et les femmes immigrantes font 28 % moins que les hommes non immigrants. Il est essentiel de s’attaquer à la discrimination systémique si l’on veut atteindre l’égalité économique pour les femmes.

Les lois proactives en matière d’égalité salariale, la syndicalisation et la réglementation sont utiles. En 2010, 55 % des employés de la fonction publique fédérale, fortement syndiquée et réglementée, étaient des femmes, et celles-ci gagnaient 90 % du salaire des hommes. Chez les fonctionnaires de moins de 35 ans, l’écart entre les hommes et les femmes s’établissait à 3,5 % seulement. Le salaire horaire des femmes en milieu syndiqué dépasse de 6,65 $ celui des femmes en milieu non syndiqué.

 

PAUVRETE CHEZ LES FEMMES – EMPLOIS PRÉCAIRES, FAIBLES SALAIRES ET ENFANTS

Il n’y a jamais eu autant de mères au travail dans l’histoire, et pourtant 37 % des mères seules vivent sous le seuil de la pauvreté. La prestation aux enfants progressive revendiquée par Campagne 2000 est une excellente occasion d’augmenter le revenu des femmes avec enfants, particulièrement celles qui bénéficient de l’aide sociale, à condition que les gouvernements fédéral et territoriaux ne déduisent pas ce montant des prestations d’aide sociale ni ne réduisent d’autres allocations calculées selon les ressources. Les services de garde d’enfants abordables sont un autre moyen efficace de réduire la pauvreté chez les femmes avec enfants.

ÉGALITE ECONOMIQUE ET ÉQUITÉ FISCALE

La politique fiscale est une bonne manière de s’attaquer à l’inégalité des revenus. YWCA Canada soutient les Canadiens pour une équité fiscale dans leur travail visant à promouvoir la justice fiscale et éradiquer l’évasion fiscale. Quand on s’attarde un peu sur les niveaux de revenu des femmes, et qu’on constate combien elles bénéficient des programmes sociaux, les baisses d’impôts ne sont pas neutres du point de vue du genre, ce sont majoritairement les hommes qui en tirent avantage. Il est essentiel de garder un impôt fédéral de base substantiel afin de pouvoir maintenir les programmes de soutien et les transferts de revenus qui réduisent les inégalités.

Making Women Count, rapport daté de 2016 et publié par le Centre canadien de politiques alternatives et Oxfam Canada, se penche sur les effets de la croissance des inégalités des revenus sur les femmes, au Canada et ailleurs. Les femmes ne récoltent pas équitablement les bénéfices réalisés par la croissance économique que génère leur participation grandissante au marché du travail.