Menu

Programs

Child Care

YWCA is the second largest non-profit provider of child care in Canada, offering regulated services to over 10,000 children annually, in over 100 individual childcare programs. This translates into some 1.5 million hours of care every year. As well, YWCA camps and after school programs also host more than 20,000 children annually.

In addition to providing quality child care services, YWCAs and YMCA-YWCAs offer support to families through parenting programs, education and support services.

Over the decades, child care has become a cornerstone advocacy issue for YWCA Canada. Supporting the principles of universality, quality, affordability in a non-profit regulated setting, YWCA Canada works with numerous national organizations. Together we advocate for a publicly funded universal child care program that will benefit all Canadian children.

YWCA Canada believes that quality early learning and care programs support:

  • the healthy development of all young children
  • parents who need to work, study and/or care for family members
  • parents in their parenting role
  • women’s equality

Despite the widespread participation of men in the care giving of children, child care remains primarily a women’s issue. For women, child care is – in the words of Justice Rosalie Abella -- "the ramp to equality". Without it, most women are not able to meet the needs of their children, nor can they fully participate in the economic, social, cultural and political life of their communities.

For more information on our YWCA Member Associations offering child care services, see Member Associations Across Canada.

Menu

Programmes

Services de garde d’enfants

YWCA est le deuxième fournisseur sans but lucratif de services de garde d’enfants au Canada, et offre des services réglementés à plus de 10 000 enfants par année dans le cadre de plus de 100 programmes de services d’enfants. Cela correspond à environ 1,5 million d’heures de garde chaque année. Par ailleurs, les centres de vacances de la YWCA et les gardes parascolaires servent plus de 20 000 enfants par an.

En plus d’offrir des services de garde d’enfants de qualité, les YWCA et les YMCA-YWCA proposent des programmes sur le rôle parental, l’éducation et des services de soutien aux familles.

Au fil du temps, les services de garde d’enfant sont devenus la pierre angulaire en matière de défense des intérêts pour YWCA Canada. De concert avec de nombreuses organisations nationales, YWCA Canada souscrit aux principes d’universalité, de qualité, d’accessibilité dans un cadre sans but lucratif et revendique l'établissement d'un programme de garde d’enfants universel financé par les fonds publics, dont profiteraient tous les enfants du pays.

La YWCA a la ferme conviction que les programmes d'apprentissage et de garde de qualité pour les jeunes enfants soutiennent :

  • la saine croissance et le bon développement de tous les jeunes enfants;
  • les parents qui ont besoin de travailler, d'étudier ou de prendre soin d'autres membres de leur famille;
  • les parents dans leur rôle de parents;
  • l'égalité des femmes.

Malgré la participation de plus en plus étendue des hommes dans la garde d’enfants, ce rôle reste essentiellement une responsabilité féminine. Pour les femmes, comme l'a si bien dit la juge Rosalie Abella, les services de garde sont « la rampe d'accès à l'égalité ». Sans eux, la plupart des femmes sont incapables de satisfaire aux besoins de leurs enfants ni de participer pleinement à la vie économique, sociale, culturelle et politique.

Pour plus d’informations sur les associations membres de la YWCA qui offrent des services de garde d’enfants, veuillez consulter associations membres à travers le Canada.