Menu

Programs

Protecting our Children

Children are most likely to encounter violence in their own home. Living in a violent home hurts children, even if they aren't being directly abused. Often they have difficulty concentrating in school, can seem aggressive or withdrawn, or can have difficulty making friends. Children from families that are living in poverty, poor housing, experiencing unemployment, substance abuse and family violence are more likely to become involved in youth delinquency and adult criminal activity.

Community investment in family support programs and accessible recreational facilities promote healthy family relationships and positive child development. These programs can help families and children build healthier relationships at home and at school.

Suggested Activities

  • Kid proofing or Child Identification Project - Ask your local police force, or the RCMP to help host an I.D. session to record children's fingerprints, description and other details.
  • Violent Toy Trade-in - Invite your local crime-stoppers association to host a toy trade-in. Children can exchange their violent toy(s) for a non-violent gift such as a yo-yo or Lego blocks. Some CrimeStoppers organizations offer school programs or host violent toy trade-in events. They can be contacted at (800) 222-8477 or see www.canadiancrimestoppers.org
  • Hands are for Helping - Have students trace their hands and cut out the pattern. Encourage them to write a word or draw a picture that shows hands are for helping, not for hurting.
  • Play and Parenting Workshop - Invite children and parents for a workshop on play and parenting skills.
  • Family Fun Day - Bring families together in a fun and inviting atmosphere by hosting a barbeque or picnic, fun games, or free activities such as swimming, basketball and soccer.
  • Take Charge of Your Television - while watching TV, discuss the violence that you witness and view through a critical lens. Encouraging children to think about what they see on TV and how they feel about it are important steps to analyzing it. Work together and watch together to find shows that are appropriate for family viewing.

Looking for women’s anti-violence resources in Canada to help you plan your event or connect with a community partner?  Check out our extensive list.

Menu

Programmes

La protection des enfants

Les enfants sont particulièrement susceptibles de se heurter à la violence dans leur propre maison. Le fait de vivre dans un foyer violent blesse les enfants, même s’ils ne sont pas directement victimes de cette violence. Ils ont souvent de la difficulté à se concentrer à l’école, ils peuvent se montrer agressifs ou isolés et ils peuvent avoir du mal à se faire des amis. La pauvreté, les logements insalubres, le chômage des parents, la consommation de drogues et la violence familiale sont des facteurs qui prédisposent les enfants à la délinquance juvénile et aux activités criminelles à l’âge adulte.

Les investissements communautaires dans les programmes de soutien et les installations récréatives améliorent les relations familiales et encouragent le développement positif de l’enfant. Ces programmes aident les familles et les enfants à construire des relations plus saines à la maison comme à l’école.

Activités proposées :

  • Projet de trousse d’identification des enfants - Demandez à la police locale ou à la GRC de tenir une activité permettant de consigner les empreintes digitales, la description et les autres détails décrivant les enfants.
  • Échange des jouets violents – Invitez votre association locale d’échec au crime d’organiser un échange de jouets. Les enfants pourront échanger leurs jouets symbolisant la violence contre des cadeaux non-violents comme des yo-yo ou des Lego. Certaines organisations d’Échec au crime proposent des programmes dans les écoles organisent des événements d’échange de jouets violents. On peut les contacter au (800) 222-8477 ou visiter leur site web au www.canadiancrimestoppers.org
  • Les mains sont faites pour aider - Demandez à des étudiants de tracer leurs mains et d’en découper le contour. Ensuite invitez les à écrire un mot ou à faire un dessin qui démontre que les mains sont faites pour aider et non pas pour faire mal.
  • Un atelier sur le jeu et le rôle parental - Invitez les enfants et les parents à un atelier sur le jeu et le rôle parental.
  • Journée agréable en famille - Invitez les familles à participer à une journée agréable dans une atmosphère détendue en tenant un pique-nique,  un barbecue animé avec des jeux à la piscine, du soccer ou du basket-ball.
  • Prenez contrôle de votre télévision – tout en regardant la télévision, discuter de la violence à la télé avec un regard critique. Encouragez les enfants à réfléchir à ce qu’ils regardent à la télé et à discuter de ce qu’ils ressentent pour développer leur esprit d’analyse. Regardez ensemble des émissions qui sont appropriées pour la famille entière.

À  la recherche de ressources antiviolence canadiennes pour mieux planifier votre événement ou engager un partenaire communautaire ?  Consultez notre liste exhaustive.