Menu

Programs

Eliminating Discrimination and Hate Crimes

Eliminating Discrimination and Hate Crimes

Discrimination is often "hidden" in the workplace, schools and media. By acknowledging that forms of bigotry - such as sexism, racism and homophobia - exist, individuals and communities can begin to work toward change. In order to abolish racism and discrimination we need to understand the ways that hate and discrimination are supported by our society. We need to recognize and challenge the beliefs, values and assumptions that sustain negative stereotypes. Learning about hate groups and how to report racist and violent incidences to school authorities and law enforcement agencies, empowers people to react to racism and discrimination and to try to stop them.

Suggested Activities

  • Cultural sharing – It’s easy to assume that our belief-systems and knowledge of history are universally valid and true. Yet, beliefs about our world and its history exist from many different points of view. Take it upon yourself to learn what they are. Ask people or organizations involved in anti-racism or cross-cultural education to host an event that supports learning about discrimination and privilege.
  • Video or film screenings - Generate discussion about violence and racism, especially among young people, through viewing movies. Some suggestions include: The Outsiders, Mississippi Burning, A Time to Kill, Schindler's List, Boys Don't Cry, or For Angela. Be sure to preview the movie for content beforehand. The National Film Board also has a variety of documentaries and short films that address these types of issues. They are also available in some public libraries. Contact the NFB at www.nfb.ca or call (514) 283-9000 or toll-free 1(800) 267-7710.
  • Performances Against Racism - Invite an inspirational speaker, poet, singer or band to teach about racism through their art.
  • Media awareness – host a popular culture club to examine violence in the media.

Looking for women’s anti-violence resources in Canada to help you plan your event or connect with a community partner?  Check out our extensive list.

Menu

Programmes

Éliminer la discrimination et les crimes haineux

La discrimination est souvent « cachée » dans le milieu du travail, dans les écoles et dans les médias. En reconnaissant que cette forme de sectarisme – comme le sexisme, le racisme et l’homophobie – existe, les individus et les communautés peuvent commencer à œuvrer pour changer les choses. Pour pouvoir éradiquer le racisme et la discrimination, nous devons comprendre comment ces dernières sont tolérées par notre société. Nous devons reconnaître et défier les croyances, les valeurs et les suppositions qui nourrissent les stéréotypes négatifs. Le fait de s’informer sur les groupes haineux et de dénoncer les incidents de racisme et de violence aux autorités scolaires et aux agences gouvernementales, donne aux gens le pouvoir de réagir au racisme et à la discrimination et d’essayer de les éliminer.

Activités proposées

  • Partage culturel - Nous pensons souvent que nos systèmes de croyance et de connaissance de l'histoire sont universellement reconnus et valides. En fait, les croyances au sujet de notre monde et de son histoire proviennent de différents points de vue. À nous d'apprendre ce qu’ils sont. Demandez aux personnes et aux organisations actives dans le domaine de l'antiracisme ou de l'éducation interculturelle de présenter un événement pour sensibiliser à la discrimination et aux privilèges.
  • Projection de films et de vidéos - Générer des discussions sur la violence et le racisme particulièrement au sein des jeunes en visionnant des films. Voici quelques suggestions de titres: The Outsiders, Mississippi burning, Le droit de tuer ?, La liste de Schindler, Les garçons ne pleurent pas, ou Pour Angela… Visionnez le film avant de le présenter pour vous assurer de son contenu. L’ Office National du Film dispose d’une grande variété de documentaires et de courts-métrages traitant de ces sujets. Ils sont disponibles dans les librairies publiques. Contactez l’ONF à partir de www.nfb.ca ou appeler le (514) 283-9000 ou le numéro sans frais 1(800) 267-7710.
  • Spectacle contre le racisme - Inviter un présentateur inspirant, un poète, un chanteur ou un groupe, qui font appel à leur art pour sensibiliser au racisme.
  • Sensibilisation aux médias - anime un club de culture populaire pour examiner la violence dans les médias.

À  la recherche de ressources antiviolence canadiennes pour mieux planifier votre événement ou engager un partenaire communautaire ?  Consultez notre liste exhaustive.