Menu

Programs

Harassment in the Workplace

Women, Aboriginal peoples, visible minorities, and LGBQT individuals often face "polite" rejections when job hunting and often confront "subtle discrimination" which prevents them from gaining promotions and senior positions. Pay and employment equity, sexual harassment and discrimination continue to be pervasive problems in Canadian workplaces. Sexual harassment always involves an abuse of power. The overwhelming majority of cases that pass through the legal system involve men sexually harassing women. Feelings of fear, guilt, and embarrassment usually plague victims of sexual harassment, sometimes silencing them. These feelings, the economic dependence that ties women and minorities to their jobs, and uncertainties about the legal system and workers' rights can lead to distress and disempowerment. By working with community organizations, corporate and governmental workplaces, universities and unions, we can promote agency and provide options for dealing with harassment.

Suggested Activities

  • Workplace Workshop - Do the staff in your organization feel free from discrimination and harassment? Make time for a workshop or staff discussion about your organization's harassment policies and practices. Set time to organize a half day of workshops and discussions to establish your commitment to a violence-free workplace.
  • Workplace Pledge Card - Is your work environment free of violence? Work collaboratively with staff in your organization to create a workplace pledge card.  This activity will facilitate staff discussion and establish your commitment to working violence free.
  • Safety Audit – Take time in the workplace to organize an audit and assessment of workplace safety.  Establish a working committee and organize with them ways to share what programs and policies are currently in place and ways in which you are hoping to improve.

Looking for women’s anti-violence resources in Canada to help you plan your event or connect with a community partner?  Check out our extensive list.

Menu

Programmes

Le harcèlement au travail

Les femmes, les autochtones, les minorités visibles, et les personnes GLBT doivent souvent faire face à des rejets « polis » quand ils sont à la recherche d’un emploi et sont fréquemment confrontés à des « discriminations subtiles » qui les empêchent d’avoir des promotions et d’occuper des fonctions de direction. Les salaires et l’équité d’emploi, le harcèlement sexuel et la discrimination sont des problèmes omniprésents dans le milieu du travail canadien. Le harcèlement sexuel implique toujours un abus de pouvoir. La grande majorité des procès concernent des hommes qui ont harcelé sexuellement des femmes. Les victimes de harcèlement sexuel éprouvent généralement de la peur, de la culpabilité et de l’embarras, ce qui les oblige souvent à garder le silence. Ces sentiments, mêlés à la dépendance économique qui lient les femmes et les minorités à leurs emplois, et au le manque de confiance dans notre système judiciaire et dans les droits des travailleurs, les poussent à éprouver de la détresse et de l’impuissance. En collaborant avec des organismes communautaires, des entreprises, des organismes gouvernementaux, des universités et des syndicats, nous pourrons trouver des moyens efficaces pour contrer le harcèlement.

Activités proposées

  • Ateliers au travail - Est-ce que les employés de votre compagnie ne se sentent pas menacés par discrimination ou le harcèlement? Prenez le temps d’animer un atelier ou une discussion avec vos collègues sur les politiques et les pratiques relatives au harcèlement dans votre compagnie. Prévoyez d’organiser une demi-journée d’ateliers et de discussions pour renouveler votre engagement à travailler dans un environnement dépourvu de toute forme de violence.
  • Carte d’engagement professionnelle – Vote environnement professionnel est-il dépourvu de toute forme de violence ? Avec vos collègues, créez une carte d’engagement. Cette activité permettra d’engager des discussions entre collègues et renouvellera votre engagement à travailler sans violence.
  • Vérification sécuritaire - Prenez le temps d’organiser une vérification ou une évaluation de la sécurité au travail. Formez un comité, déterminez les moyens de partager les programmes et les politiques qui sont actuellement en place et choisissez ceux que vous souhaitez améliorer.

À  la recherche de ressources antiviolence canadiennes pour mieux planifier votre événement ou engager un partenaire communautaire ?  Consultez notre liste exhaustive.