Menu

Programs

Day of Remembrance

Violence can happen anywhere, at home, at school and at work, and it can take many forms. When we think of violence, we often think of physical violence. Often the affect of verbal put downs and degrading gestures are underestimated. Insults and condescending behaviour can threaten our emotional, spiritual, and psychological well-being. Many people endure emotional, psychological, economic, social, physical and sexual violence in silence. Women, Aboriginal peoples, visible minorities and LGBQT people confront systemic forms of violence almost every day of their lives. This is the harsh reality of the violence that permeates our society.

Speaking about violence can help us to identify feelings of loss and anger, and to heal from them. A day of remembrance  can serve as a reminder that messages of peace and harmony can encourage us to work together to eliminate violence in our society. In each community there are examples of people who have overcome violence. Remembering our triumphs over violence will remind us that it is possible to heal from violence.

Suggested Activities

  • Acknowledge and Rebuild - Connect with a bereavement group, therapist, or family service agency to share their knowledge, or sponsor a speaker to talk about the hurt and loss caused by violence. Hearing from others about their experiences of violence and loss reminds us that we are not alone. Support and help is available in many forms, through many different channels.
  • Contemplate and Meditate - Arrange a gathering to focus on meditation or meditative arts like Tai Chi or Yoga.
  • Memorial or Remembrance Service - Involve Faith groups and other concerned community organizations in planning a ceremony or gathering to address the suffering caused from violence, and the ways to triumph over it. Send materials to faith organizations and women's organizations with a message that can be easily shared among members, "Letter from Peterborough" for example.
  • Explore Your Sensitivity - Make candles, a chain of origami cranes or any other of symbol associated with peace and harmony to explore feelings and values connected with alternatives to violence.

Looking for women’s anti-violence resources in Canada to help you plan your event or connect with a community partner?  Check out our extensive list.

Menu

Programmes

La journée du souvenir

La violence peut arriver n’importe où, à la maison, à l’école ou au travail. Elle peut se présenter sous plusieurs formes. Quand on pense à la violence, on pense souvent à la violence physique. On sous-estime souvent l’impact émotionnel de la violence verbale et des gestes dégradants. Les insultes et les comportements condescendants peuvent menacer notre bien-être émotionnel, spirituel et psychologique. De nombreuses personnes endurent la violence émotionnelle, psychologique, économique, sociale, physique et sexuelle en silence. Les femmes, les peuples autochtones, les minorités visibles et les personnes GLBT doivent faire face aux diverses formes de la violence systémique presque tous les jours. La violence intoxique notre société, telle est la dure réalité à laquelle nous sommes confrontés.

Parler de la violence nous aide à déterminer les sentiments de perte et de colère et d’y remédier. La journée de commémoration nous rappellera que les messages de paix et d’harmonie nous motivent à travailler ensemble pour éradiquer la violence de notre société. Dans chaque communauté, des personnes courageuses ont pu surmonter la violence. Se souvenir de leurs victoires sur la violence nous rappelle qu’on arrivera un jour à l’éliminer.

Activités proposées

  • Reconnaître pour reconstruire – En compagnie d’un groupe spécialisé en deuil, des thérapeutes ou une organisation de services aux familles, partagez, échangez et invitez un intervenant pour parler des blessures et de la perte que cause la violence. Écouter d’autres personnes, qui ont souffert de la violence ou de la perte, nous rappellera que nous ne sommes pas seules. Plusieurs organismes d’aide et de soutien offrent une multitude de services dans ce sens.
  • Contemplation et méditation - Organiser un rassemblement pour parler de méditation ou d’arts méditatifs comme le Tai Chi et le Yoga.
  • Services commémoratifs – Invitez des groupes confessionnels et des organisations communautaires à planifier une cérémonie ou une assemblée pour débattre de la souffrance causée par la violence et des moyens de la surmonter. Envoyez des brochures aux groupes confessionnels et aux organisations féminines en incluant un message facile à partager comme « la lettre de Peterborough » par exemple.
  • Découvrez votre sensibilité - Faites des bougies, une chaîne de colombes en origami ou d’autres symboles de la paix et de l’harmonie pour explorer les sentiments et les valeurs opposées à la violence.

À  la recherche de ressources antiviolence canadiennes pour mieux planifier votre événement ou engager un partenaire communautaire ?  Consultez notre liste exhaustive.