Menu

Programs

Facing Violence Among Men

Men can help stop violence by acting as positive role models. By demonstrating positive and healthy interactions between each other and women, they can teach other men and boys alternatives to relationships that rely on domination and control. Increasing numbers of men are realizing that they need to take responsibility for violence against women. Many are asking for help to change the way they act. There are currently over 2000 programs for men who have assaulted their partners.  Many men's organizations like White Ribbon Campaign support violence prevention education by producing educational materials, facilitating or co-facilitating workshops, and organizing events.

Suggested Activities

  • Dating Relationships and Aggression - Organize a seminar and share myths, facts and other information on dating relationships at a local high school, community college or university.
  • Drum out Violence - Aboriginal, African and Latin cultures use drumming for healing and celebratory purposes. Find out if there is someone in your community who would like to hold a drumming session or workshop.
  • Boys and Men event - Host a sporting event with Fathers and Sons or "Boys in the Hood". Emphasize that, win or lose, boys and men can learn from their mistakes without feeling ashamed, and that praise feels a lot better than put-downs.
  • Connect with an anti-violence organization that focuses on men’s response to violence against women and plan a joint event that supports boys and young women by looking at media images, gaming and music.

Looking for women’s anti-violence resources in Canada to help you plan your event or connect with a community partner?  Check out our extensive list.

Menu

Programmes

Les hommes face à la violence

Les hommes peuvent faire cesser la violence en agissant comme modèles masculins positifs. En vivant des relations positives avec leurs pairs et avec les femmes, ils peuvent démontrer aux hommes et aux garçons qu’on peut avoir des relations saines, qui ne sont pas obligatoirement fondées sur la domination et le contrôle. Nombre d’hommes réalisent qu’ils ont une part de responsabilité dans la violence faite aux femmes. Plusieurs cherchent de l’aide pour pouvoir changer leur manière d’agir. Actuellement, il existe plus de 2000 programmes pour les hommes qui ont violenté leurs partenaires. Par ailleurs, des associations d’hommes comme la Campagne du ruban blanc appuient l’éducation à la prévention de la violence en produisant des supports pédagogiques ou en organisant des ateliers et des événements.

Activités proposées

  • Fréquentations et agressions - Organisez un séminaire et partager les mythes, les réalités et d’autres informations sur les fréquentations à l’école secondaire locale, au collège ou à l’université.
  • Battre la violence - Les cultures autochtones, africaines et latines utilisent les percussions à des fins de guérison ou de célébration. Trouvez quelqu’un dans votre communauté qui aimerait tenir des sessions ou des ateliers de percussions.
  • Événement garçons-hommes - Organisez un événement sportif entre pères et fils ou avec « les gars du quartier ». Insistez sur le fait que, gagnants ou perdants, les garçons et les hommes peuvent apprendre de leurs erreurs sans se sentir embarrassés ou honteux, et que les compliments font plus de bien que les critiques.
  • Contactez une organisation antiviolence axée sur la réponse des hommes à la problématique de la violence faite aux femmes et planifiez un événement commun pour soutenir les garçons et les filles qui porterait sur les images des médias, les jeux et la musique.

À  la recherche de ressources antiviolence canadiennes pour mieux planifier votre événement ou engager un partenaire communautaire ?  Consultez notre liste exhaustive.