Menu

Programs

Think Big! Lead Now! Young Women’s National Leadership Program

YWCA Think Big! Lead Now! Young Women’s Leadership Program 2018

Think Big Lead Now Young Women’s National Leadership Program is a comprehensive bilingual leadership program that includes online learning sessions and talks, self-study, peer mentorship and support, and civic engagement activities along with a three-day immersive training and networking summit.

Grounded in intersectional feminism and social justice, this program has been designed to equip young women with the knowledge and skills to lead and be change-makers in their communities and beyond.

YWCA Canada works on the belief that the best method for strengthening young women’s leadership is to provide participants with new experiences that allow them to stretch beyond their comfort level, enhance their skills through practice and enable them to reflect on the experience. Young leaders will develop an understanding of the nature of social change and their capacity to effect change through their actions and work ahead to achieve through the program components described below.

PROGRAM SPEAKERS, LEADERS & MENTORS

Summit Keynote Speaker: Laurin Liu



Laurin Liu was elected a Member of Parliament representing the riding of Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, serving from 2011-2015. She is the youngest woman to be elected Member of Parliament in Canada, and served as Official Opposition deputy critic for the Environment, deputy critic for Science and Technology and deputy critic for International Trade. She tabled multiple bills and a motion on subjects including precarious work, poverty, consumer protections and women’s health.

Program Presenters, Facilitators & Mentors

Alicia Gill, Advocate & Researcher (YWCA USA)
Tieja Medicine Crane, Activist
Nydia Dauphin, Self-love Coach & Advocate
Jessie Steinberg, Outdoor Educator & Animator (LEAP Adventures)
Marva Wisdom, Civic Engagement Expert (Wisdom Consulting)
Crystal Fraser & Sara Komarnisky, Scholars & Creators of "150 Acts of Reconciliation for the last 150 days of Canada 150"
Simona Ramkisson, Youth Facilitator & Community-Builder (Mozilla Foundation)
Karine Myrgianie Jean-François, Jurist & Community Organizer (DAWN Canada)

E-LEARNING PRESENTATIONS & WORKSHOPS
December 2017 to June 2018

Through online live and pre-recorded sessions, participants will have the opportunity to build skills, connect inspirational women leaders and network with one another. Program participants will reflect on strengths, abilities, values and identify the leader they want to become.

E-learning & Self-study topics include:
Program Orientation Session
Strengths-based Assessment & Reflection
Building Your Personal Brand
Financial Literacy: 8 Reasons to Measure
Let’s Talk About Power: Anti-Racism and Anti-Oppression Practice
The Revolutionary Art of Self-Love
Leadership Journey Mentor Sessions: interactive conversations with Women of Distinction, women leaders from a range of sectors

PEER MENTORSHIP & SUPPORT
February to June 2018

“If I don’t shine, you don’t shine” is the foundation of this aspect of the program. Working in small groups supported by a community leader or group mentor, participants will motivate and support one another in further advancing leadership skills and career opportunities while developing a group project, event or initiative together. Participants will be matched into groups by a committee of program peers, based on geography and/or area of interest.

YWCA will facilitate group meetings in advance of the training summit either in person or by teleconference, and the groups will have time throughout the 3-day training summit to debrief, connect, and plan with their groups. Following the summit, groups will continue to meet to take on an action, event or initiative in the community or online, and to continue to support one another.

3-DAY IMMERSIVE LEADERSHIP TRAINING SUMMIT
March 8 to 11, 2018 in Muskoka, Ontario

Young leaders will mark International Women’s Day in an amazing way! Connect with over 100 other young women from every province and territory in an idyllic and secluded lakefront camp retreat north of Toronto.
During the immersive, experiential, three-day training, participants will meet and work with their Peer Mentor and Support Groups. A roster of incredible women from a range of sectors will be on hand for skills-building workshops, presentations, outdoor activities, and group discussions about leadership and overcoming barriers.

"The summit not only made me connections from all over Canada but it made me connect with myself, my goals, skills and assets."

Celebrate women and reflect on the contributions women have made to the fabric of Canada. Participants will be invited to share your own feminist heritage minute or poster featuring a Canadian woman role model, leader or activist, or on a historic moment or a unique aspect of Canada that inspires them.

Plenary sessions include:
Finding and keeping your voice
What makes you a good leader
Techniques to overcoming conflict, common challenges
Workshops
Participants will be invited to select from a range of skills-based workshops that correspond to their strengths-based assessment and leadership skills. Workshops are informed by the interest and skills level of the participants, and could include:
Advocacy & lobbying
Arts-based social justice
Board governance
Communications strategies
Entrepreneurship
Event planning & accessibility
Feminism & social justice
Grant writing & Fundraising
Intersectional feminism, anti-racism & anti-oppression
Leading to the beat of your own drum
Political leadership
Project management
Public speaking

YOUNG WOMEN’S COMMUNITY ACTION DAYS

Peer Mentor and Support Groups take what they’ve learned and put it into action by planning an event, action or initiative in the community or online that moves the needle forward on an issue that they care about. The purpose of these YWCA Days activities is to encourage civic engagement and community-building on an issue of interest to each group.

Participants will be asked to catalog their actions and share key moments with YWCA Canada and their fellow participants through project’s web platforms to inspire their peers in other communities and across the country.
As a woman from a remote community, it was really great to meet such a wide variety of ladies from across Canada all in one place. I made new friends that I hope to keep in touch with, and heard perspectives I had never thought of before. I would say, rather than an increased attachment to Canada, I have a new resolve to improve Canada. Canada isn't perfect and has never been, but I look forward to finding new ways to improve life for everyone living on this landscape.

PROGRAM FEES



$500
Registration costs for the full leadership program include access to the e-learning webinars, group mentoring and support, and travel, shared accommodation and meals to attend the training summit at YMCA Geneva Park in March 2018.

$750
Registration costs for the full leadership program include access to the e-learning webinars, group mentoring and support, and travel, private accommodation and meals to attend the training summit at YMCA Geneva Park in March 2018.

BURSARIES

If you are between 18 and 25 years old, and you live anywhere in Canada, you may apply for bursaries to cover program registration costs and travel expenses, including accommodations and meals.

YWCA is accepting all applications open from September 11 to November 5, 2017. Please submit your application for the program and for bursaries via https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/TBLN2018_EN.

How are participants selected?
• Have committed to participate in all program components and in developing a personal action plan.
• Those who are leading or show leadership potential through participation in formal or informal roles in academic projects, community or extracurricular activities, internships or work.
• Express an interest in the program and commitment to learning from other young women and also supporting and motivating their growth.
• Show why women’s leadership, social justice is important to them.

ACCESSIBILITY

YWCA Canada is committed to ensuring a fully accessible program. As such the following considerations have been made:

All program components and materials are offered in English and French
E-learning modules will be available for download
The training venue is accessible for those with facing mobility challenges
Childcare will be available at the training summit for those with young children
A local Elder will be onsite and available throughout the summit
A designated quiet space and counsellors will be onsite for the training summit
Further information regarding available accessibility measures will be shared with participants once selected.

"Having counsellors there took away my anxiety. Thank you for letting me be a part of something so great! I'm giving my first speech on Monday about educators with mental health. I would have never had the courage to do this without the support of the other women I met there."

This project is funded in part by the Government of Canada.

Thank you to our sponsors:

Menu

Programmes

Programme sur le leadership des jeunes femmes : De grandes idées! Jeunesse en action!

Programme sur le leadership des jeunes femmes : De grandes idées! Jeunesse en action! 2018

Le Programme national sur le leadership des jeunes femmes : De grandes idées! Jeunesse en action! est un programme de leadership complet et bilingue comprenant des modules d’apprentissage en ligne, des cyberconférences, de l’autoapprentissage, du mentorat et du soutien par les pairs, des activités d’action citoyenne ainsi qu’un forum immersif de formation et de réseautage d’une durée de trois jours.

Fondé sur le féminisme intersectionnel et la justice sociale, ce programme a été conçu dans le but de permettre aux jeunes femmes de tout le Canada de se pourvoir du savoir et des compétences nécessaires pour être des leaders et des agentes de changement dans leur communauté et ailleurs.

YWCA Canada part du principe que la meilleure manière de renforcer le leadership des jeunes femmes est d’offrir aux participantes l’occasion de vivre de nouvelles expériences qui les feront sortir de leur zone de confort, de développer leurs compétences par la pratique et de réfléchir à ce qu’elles auront vécu. Dans le cadre du programme détaillé plus bas, les jeunes leaders viendront à saisir la nature du changement social et acquerront des habiletés pour le provoquer par leurs actions et leur travail.

CONFÉRENCIÈRES, LEADERS ET MENTORES DU PROGRAMME

Conférencière d’honneur du forum : Laurin Liu


Laurin Liu a été élue à la Chambre des communes pour représenter la circonscription de Rivière-des-Mille-Îles. Elle a été députée de 2011 à 2015. La plus jeune femme de l’histoire du Canada à avoir été élue à la Chambre des communes, elle a également agi à titre de porte-parole adjointe de l’opposition officielle en matière d’environnement, de science et technologie et de commerce international. Elle a déposé de nombreux projets de loi ainsi qu’une motion sur des sujets tels que le travail précaire, la pauvreté, la protection des consommateurs et la santé des femmes.

Présentatrices, animatrices et mentores du programme
Alicia Gill, militante et chercheuse (YWCA USA)
Tieja Medicine Crane, activiste
Nydia Dauphin, militante et coach en amour de soi
Jessie Steinberg, éducatrice et animatrice de plein air (LEAP Adventures)
Marva Wisdom, experte en action citoyenne (Wisdom Consulting)
Crystal Fraser et Sara Komarnisky, créatrices du guide 150 Acts of Reconciliation for the last 150 days of Canada 150 (150 gestes de réconciliation pour les 150 derniers jours de célébration du Canada 150)
Simona Ramkisson, animatrice jeunesse et bâtisseuse communautaire (Mozilla Foundation)
Karine Myrgianie Jean-François, juriste et organisatrice communautaire (RAFH Canada)

PRÉSENTATIONS ET ATELIERS D’APPRENTISSAGE EN LIGNE
décembre 2017 à juin 2018

Grâce à des séances en ligne préenregistrées et en direct, les participantes auront la chance d’acquérir des compétences, d’entrer en contact avec des leaders inspirantes et de réseauter entre elles. Les participantes au programme réfléchiront sur leurs forces, leurs aptitudes, leurs valeurs et sur le genre de leader qu’elles veulent devenir.

Sujets traités par les ressources d’apprentissage en ligne et d’autoapprentissage :
Séance d’orientation du programme
Évaluer et réfléchir sur vos forces
Créer votre marque personnelle
Littéracie financière : 8 raisons de la mesurer
Parlons pouvoir : pratique de l’antiracisme et de l’anti-oppression
L’art révolutionnaire de s’aimer
Séances de mentorat — Parcours de leaders : discussions interactives avec des Femmes de mérite, des leaders provenant d’un éventail de secteurs

MENTORAT ET SOUTIEN PAR LES PAIRS
février à juin 2018

Cette section du programme est fondée sur la théorie « Si je ne rayonne pas, tu ne rayonnes pas ». En petits groupes dirigés par une leader communautaire ou une mentore, les participantes s’inspireront et se soutiendront mutuellement pour accroître leurs compétences en leadership et avancer professionnellement tout en élaborant collectivement un projet, un événement ou une initiative. Les participantes seront groupées par un comité de pairs selon leur situation géographique et/ou leur champ d’intérêt.

YWCA tiendra des réunions de groupe en prévision du forum, en personne ou par téléconférence, et, durant les trois jours de formation, les participantes auront la chance de faire un compte rendu, d’entrer en contact et de faire des plans avec les membres de leur groupe. Après le forum, les groupes continueront de se rencontrer afin d’organiser un événement ou une initiative, dans leur communauté ou en ligne, et de continuer à se soutenir mutuellement.

FORUM DE FORMATION INTENSIVE EN LEADERSHIP D’UNE DURÉE DE 3 JOURS
du 8 au 11 mars 2018, à Muskoka, en Ontario

Les jeunes leaders célébreront la Journée internationale des femmes de formidable façon! Sympathisez avec plus d’une centaine d’autres jeunes femmes de toutes les provinces et territoires dans un refuge idyllique et reculé au bord d’un lac, au nord de Toronto.

Pendant ces trois jours de formation immersive et expérientielle, les participantes feront la connaissance des membres de leur groupe de mentorat et de soutien par les pairs et travailleront avec ces dernières. Des femmes incroyables d’un éventail de secteurs vous guideront tout au long des ateliers de développement des compétences, des présentations, des activités de plein air et des discussions de groupe sur le leadership et sur les manières de vaincre les obstacles.

"Non seulement le forum m’a-t-il permis de me bâtir un réseau dans tout le Canada, mais il m’a aussi mise en contact avec moi-même, mes objectifs, mes compétences et mes atouts."

Célébrez les femmes et réfléchissez à leur apport au tissu social du Canada. Les participantes seront invitées à concevoir et partager leur propre minute du patrimoine féministe ou affiche représentant une femme modèle, une leader ou une activiste, un moment historique ou un aspect unique au Canada qui les inspire.

Les séances plénières comprennent :
Trouver sa voix et la conserver
Ce qui fait de vous une bonne leader
Techniques pour surmonter les conflits et les obstacles courants

Ateliers

Les participantes seront invitées à choisir les ateliers qui correspondent à leurs forces et à leurs compétences en leadership. Ces ateliers, qui seront fondés sur les champs d’intérêt et le niveau de compétences des participantes, pourraient traiter des sujets suivants :
Défense des droits et lobbying
Justice sociale fondée sur les arts
Gouvernance de conseils d’administration
Stratégies de communication
Entrepreneuriat
Planification d’événements et accessibilité
Féminisme et justice sociale
Demandes de subvention et campagnes de financement
Féminisme intersectionnel, antiracisme & anti-oppression
Menant au rythme de votre propre tambour
Leadership politique
Gestion de projet
Parler en public

JOURNÉES D’ACTION COMMUNAUTAIRE DES JEUNES FEMMES
Les groupes de mentorat et de soutien par les pairs mettront en pratique ce qu’ils auront appris en organisant un événement, une action ou une initiative, dans la communauté ou en ligne, qui fait avancer une cause leur tenant à cœur. Le but de ces activités est d’encourager l’action civique et de faire du renforcement communautaire à propos d’un enjeu d’intérêt pour chacun des groupes.

Les participantes devront faire l’inventaire de leurs actions et partager les moments importants avec YWCA Canada et les autres participantes via les plateformes web du projet afin d’inspirer leurs pairs d’un bout à l’autre du Canada.

Comme je vis en région éloignée, c’était vraiment super de rencontrer à un même endroit toutes ces femmes de partout au Canada. Je me suis fait de nouvelles amies avec qui j’espère garder contact, et j’ai entendu des points de vue auxquels je n’avais jamais pensé. Je dirais que je ne suis pas plus attachée au Canada, mais que j’ai maintenant la résolution de le rendre meilleur. Le Canada n’est pas parfait, et ne l’a jamais été, mais je suis motivée à trouver de nouvelles manières d’améliorer la vie des tous ceux et celles qui y vivent.

COÛTS DU PROGRAMME

500 $
Les frais d’inscription au programme complet de leadership couvrent l’accès aux webinaires, le groupe de mentorat et de soutien par les pairs, les déplacements, la chambre partagée et les repas dans le cadre de la participation au forum qui se tiendra au YMCA Geneva Park en mars 2018.

750 $
Les frais d’inscription au programme complet de leadership couvrent l’accès aux webinaires, le groupe de mentorat et de soutien par les pairs, les déplacements, la chambre individuelle et les repas dans le cadre de la participation au forum qui se tiendra au YMCA Geneva Park en mars 2018.

BOURSES

Si vous avez entre 18 et 25 ans et que vous vivez au Canada, vous pouvez déposer une demande de bourse afin de payer vos frais d’inscription et de déplacement, y compris l’hébergement et les repas.

Comment les participantes sont-elles sélectionnées?
• Nous privilégions celles qui s’engagent à participer à toutes les étapes du programme et à concevoir un plan d’action individuel.
• Celles qui démontrent leur leadership ou un potentiel de leadership en prenant part, à titre officiel ou non, à des projets scolaires ou communautaires, des activités parascolaires, en suivant un stage ou dans le cadre de leur travail.
• Celles qui expriment un intérêt envers le programme et un engagement à apprendre d’autres jeunes femmes et à les soutenir et les motiver dans leur croissance.
• Celles qui démontrent pourquoi la justice sociale et le leadership des femmes sont importants pour elles.


ACCESSIBILITÉ

YWCA Canada s’engage à présenter un programme entièrement accessible. Pour ce faire, les mesures suivantes ont été prises :
Tous les éléments et le matériel du programme sont offerts en français et en anglais.
Les modules d’apprentissage en ligne pourront être téléchargés.
Le site de la formation est accessible aux personnes à mobilité réduite.
Un service de garderie sera fourni aux mères de jeunes enfants lors du forum.
Une Ancienne de la région sera sur place et disponible pendant tout le forum.
Vous aurez accès, sur les lieux du forum, à un espace de détente et à des intervenantes.

De l’information supplémentaire à propos des mesures d’accessibilité sera partagée aux participantes retenues.

"La présence de thérapeutes a chassé mon anxiété. Merci de m’avoir permis de faire partie de quelque chose d’aussi extraordinaire! Je vais donner lundi mon premier discours sur les éducateurs et la santé mentale. Jamais je n’aurais eu le courage de faire cela sans le soutien des filles que j’ai rencontrées là-bas."


Merci à nos sponsors: